Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teacher plays an important role for conveying knowledge to students, which helps students to solid their professional background. However, if a teacher make his or her social or political views known to students in the classroom, it will inevitably have some negative effects to students. Thus, I agree with the statement that teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

To begin with, if teachers make their political views known to students, it may create conflicts between teachers and students who have different political views. Since most people would not be able to be calm when they talk about politics, so conflicts usually happen between people whose political positions are opposite. For example, in Taiwan, there was a protest that happened in 2014, protesters were protesting about the government. I remember a lot of students joined the protest in that year, and some of protesters started a campaign that encouraged students to take classes whose teachers are in favor of the government.

Furthermore, teachers who like to share their political views tend to distract students in the class. Because sometime those views are irrelevant to the class that a teacher is teaching, so student would usually use that time to do things other than listening to teacher. For instance, I took Spanish class when I was in university. I tried really hard to learn this language in the class, but at the end of semester, I felt that I did not learn that much in the class. Since my Spanish teacher spent more than half of the semester talking about politics in Taiwan, so most of students used those time to swipe phones.

Last but not the least, I believe that politics should not get into the schools, and teachers should play a neutral role for teaching students. In this way, students can focus more on gaining knowledge, rather than talking about politics all the time. Let's take my Spanish teacher as example, I think she does have strong academic background, but talking too much about politics in the class made a lot of students lost their passion in Spanish, including me.

In conclusion, I believe that if teachers do not make their social or political views known to students, students can learn more efficiently.