Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

To me, being successful in a future job requires not only the ability to relate well to people, but also professional knowledge, and hard working etc. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Instead, I believe that they are equally important.

To begin with, it is true that one of important factors that brings us to success in a future job is the ability to relate well to people. Since most of job positions require us to collaborate with our coworkers, and if we can not achieve it, the performance of the team may not be able to reach the supervisor's expectation. For example, I remember when I used to work as a research assistant, my boss asked me and my colleague, Tom, to analyze the data of one of his research, and present the result to him. Because it was a little bit difficult to do it, he wanted us to collaborate. However, Tom thought that he had better statistical skill than me, so he decided to ignore my opinion. As a result, the professor was not satisfied to the analysis, since we used the wrong statistic method to analyze it. And it turned out that my idea was correct. This case indicates the importance of the ability to relate well to people.

However, studying hard is imperative as well. Since it allows us to have stronger professional background, and be able to apply our professions better. For instance, a lot of interviews of software engineer position require applicants to perform professional skills, such as writing code or coming out with the most efficient algorithm. All of these skills need us to study hard when we are still students, since they are harder to acquire when we are not students.

Moreover, studying hard in school can also let us develop hard working habit. Since we have gotten used to study hard, it would be easier for us to work harder in a position. For example, because I have developed the habit of studying hard, when my coworkers are complaining about heavy workload, I instead felt it was nothing. At the end, I won more bonus because of my hard working.

To conclude, despite the ability to relate well to people is important, without studying hard in the school, it is still unlikely for a person to be successful in a job.