Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue of having broad knowledge of many academic subjects or specializing in specific subject is hot-debated one. On one hand, some people think that having broad knowledge is better than specializing in one specific subject. On the other hand, some people believe that it is better that we specialize in on subject. However, I believe that having broad knowledge and specializing are equally important.

To begin with, having broad knowledge is one of imperative element for innovation. With multiple backgrounds of knowledge mix together, people can think about one topic in different angles, and therefore it is easier for new innovation to appear. That's why many universities today start encouraging students to study diversified subjects. For example, I was studying in psychology department in university. I remember when I was still a student, my professor encouraged me to take courses from computer science department. Because he thought that learning programming is inevitable today, and with the help of programming skill, it would make me apply my knowledge in popular field easily. And this field known by a lot of people as artificial-intelligence, AI. Since having knowledge of computer science, it will be easier to communicate with engineers, and support them to create more human-like machine.

However, specializing in one specific subject has it importance as well. Most of knowledge that we are learning today is based on the research results from many professional scholars before. Without their devotion on specific field, it is impossible that we can understand the world that we live now. More importantly, specializing in specific subject can help people work in that field to make breakthrough. Take TSMC, a semiconductor manufacturer in Taiwan, for example. This company has been devoting on producing chips for decades, therefore, they can have more advanced techniques in producing chips, compare with its competitors such as SAMSUNG and Intel. If TSMC is like its competitors developing different types of business, I believe it may not be able to have such achievement today.

In conclusion, developing broad range of knowledge and specializing in specific subject have their own importance. And the world needs both types of people, so the world that we live can make progress.