Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Despite extended family is still important today, with the development of technology extended family seems to play a less important role than before. Since people now spend more time with people other than their extended family now. Therefore, I agree with the statement that the extended family is less important now than it was in the past, for the following reasons.

First of all, people now do not live with their families. Along with the development of public transportation, people today can spend less time traveling to visit their families. So more and more people decide to settle in a place that has more opportunities for works. For example, I remember in my parents' generation, they used to live with their family members together. Even though they did not live in the same house, they might still live in the same town or village. That way they could take care of each other easily. But today, I only need to spend three hours to travel to my grandparents' house, thus, living together may not be necessary.

Furthermore, with the help of social media, making new friends is not as difficult as before. In this case, the time that we spend with our extended family may be way less than before. I remember when I was a kid, there were no social media, so I played with my cousins most of the time. Yet today, I have made a lot of friends through social media, therefore I almost go out with my friends every week.

Finally, the living pace today is much faster than before, and competition is much more competitive as well. To make sure that we will not be replaced, people arrange more time on self-education. Which means that they do not have as much time with their family as before. For instance, today English is a basic skill for working in a decent company. Therefore, people spend more of their weekend on self-improvement, such as taking online courses or going to cram schools, which make them has less time hanging out with family member that they are not familiar with.

In conclusion, people today have more different types of activity or friends that they can spend time with. Hence, they may shorten the time they spend on family members besides their parents and siblings.