Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Identifying what type of career would lead to a successful future is imperative to us, since choosing a right career can let us work shorter time to earn certain amount of money compare with others. With the help of technology, people today can get information of a job way easier than before. Thus, I disagree with the statement that it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure and successful future, for the following reasons.

First of all, people now can easily access to different information through the Internet, so they can tell which job has better salary and benefit without spending considerable time in doing research. For example, there are many websites, such as glassdoor, that provide information about different jobs. So if we want to know whether the job that we about to apply pays well or includes attractive benefits, we can simply type the position into the search bar, and let the computer do the rest of work for us. Moreover, some websites even include reviews from people who are working or used to work in that position, which provides us more accurate information about it.

Furthermore, due to the flourishing of technological industries, people today do not guess which industry that pays better, since technology is always the one that pays highest salaries. In that way, distinguishing salary has turned from position level to industrial level, which is way easier for us to spot the promise career. For instance, Taiwan. In Taiwan, the salary gap between industries is fairly wide now. A beginner level of software engineer position pays almost two times more than people who work in the bank. Therefore, people today do not need to calculate the difference still can tell what type of career would lead to a successful future.

In conclusion, although we should not evaluate a career should not merely depend on it salary, since the salary difference is too significant, I believe no matter how good is the benefits of a job, still cannot surpass the salary gaps.