Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I agree the claim that group assignments should replace traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses. However, I do not agree that group assignments to replace substantial amount of lecture-based instruction, for the following reasons.

Group assignment is a new way of teaching that start being trendy since past decade. It was designed to help students developing their active and critical thinking. Students that learn new knowledge through group assignment may have stronger motivation to learn. Since they can actually attend the process of learning, instead of sitting in the classroom and listening what professor want to teach them. For example, in Taiwan, lecture-based instruction teaching is still the major method that adopted by professors. Notwithstanding, no matter how much effort that professors put in their lecture, there are always students that can fall asleep or skip the class. Mostly because they think that instructors' lecture material are tepid, thus, they lose the their interest to that course.

Moreover, group assignment can also make students have profounder memory of what they learned in the class. Because they learn the knowledge actively. Learning through interacting with class members, students switch their position from passive learner to active learner, and it could stimulate different part of brain when they are discussing the topic with their group members. At the same time, students may experience peers pressure that motivate them to keep learning, since the whole group's performance may decide all the group members' grades.

However, replacing substantial traditional lecture-based instruction could also entail some problem. Since when students just get into the university, they are like a blank paper, they need someone who has experience to introduce them to academic world. And usually people who lead them are instructors. Without lecture-based instruction, students may have to explore the studying methods, and absorb knowledge themselves. It may sounds normal that college students have to depend on themselves to study, yet without someone professional to lead them, the learning process may not be as efficient as people expected. Therefore, in my opinion, lecture-based instruction still has its own value to exist, especially for freshman in college and university.

In conclusion, despite group assignments could motivate student to learn, and develop their ability of critical thinking, without lecture-based instruction student may not be capable to learn efficiently and effectively through group assignments.