Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students are more influenced by their teachers or by their friends is a hot-debated issue. Some people think that students are more influenced by their teachers. However, I believe that they are more influenced by their friends, for the following reasons.

To begin with, students of similar ages would have similar thoughts. This is because they receive the same kind of information, and are influenced by the same type of trends. Which makes them form closely resembled thoughts. For example, I remember when I was in middle school, the movie fast and furious 5 was super popular among students. So my friends and I slowly formed an idea that we should be like a family that would fight for each other, thus, we often conflicted with other groups of people. However, our behavior in teachers' eyes is just a group of teenagers that easily got triggered by others. So they did not know the motivation behind our behaviors.

Furthermore, students usually are highly influenced by peer pressure, since they do not want to be isolated from the group. Therefore, they would try to behave as same as friends do, or people they think are important to them do. For instance, another story that happened in my middle school was that I was in a classroom in which there were many naughty students. So we like to do a lot of things that may violate the school's rules. And one of my classmates, Ian, he used to be the one who likes to avoid all the trouble. Yet when he realized that it made him unique in the class, he started making trouble with other classmates.

However, some people may argue that teacher plays an important role that helps students fit in the whole society. But they may not realize that the ways that teachers interact with students are changing as well. Because they realize that if they do not try to be part of the students' group, they might not be able to create any influence on their students. This is the reason why a lot of popular teachers today share the same characteristic, which is sharing the same points of view with their students.

To sum up, despite teachers play an important role in influencing students' behavior, their influence may not be that significant. Since if students experience peer pressure, they may still choose to be acting like their friends.