Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When any given company wants to increase the sales number of certain products, they would usually use advertisement to increase the exposure for them. Since the advertisement will be seen by a large number of potential customers, it is understandable that they make their products more attractive than they really are, otherwise, the companies may not be able to receive the effects that they expected. Hence, I agree with the statement that most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

To begin with, one of the important goals of advertisement is to create an illusion that the product is excellent. Only when the potential customers think that the product worths its price, that they have the motivation that is strong enough to have a desire to understand the product. For example, I remember that I have seen a laptop advertisement from GIGABYTE before. At that time I did not need a new laptop, yet when I saw the advertisement that states their laptop has outstanding performance, it did raise my interest. Though in the end, I did not buy that laptop, it did make me spend hours to understand their product.

Furthermore, a good advertisement can also help the company establish a good reputation. In this way, no matter how the quality of the products is, people will still have confidence in the company. It may sound impossible, but this is a real story that happened in my family. My dad used to buy a television from Samsung, however, the television did not last that long in my house. I remember after five months that we had the new television, the speakers of it were broken. And my dad spent a considerable amount of time trying to fix this problem, but the speakers would always have a problem within few months. In the end, my dad said he would never buy any product from Samsung. And a few years later, he saw an advertisement for a laundry machine from Samsung, despite he had suffered from Samsung's product, he still gave it a try again.

In conclusion, advertisement plays an imperative role in promoting the product and establishing the company's appearance. Therefore, if the advertisement only makes the product be the same as it is in real life. Companies may never be able to achieve the goal that they want to achieve.