Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to be a member of a group than to be a leader of a group. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In recent times, there has been a widespread debate on whether people should be a leader in a group or not. While some of them prefer to be a member of a group because they will be away from taking huge responsibilities, I hold the opposite view. Personally, I think it is better for people to become leaders in their community.

To begin with, being a leader allows people to improve several skills. They can learn how to be a good listener or how to solve complex problems. For instance, When I was the leader for my university class for more than two years, I improved many skills that I did not have before. At first, when I took the position, I was a little bit scared because I did not want to fail. Some of my classmates were giving me many suggestions in order to improve and organize the process of study in a group. However, I did not respond to them because I felt at that time I’m the one who should give ideas not my colleague. Therefore, I did not succeed in the first year in the leadership and many students did not like my attitude toward them because I used to ignore them. However, when my friend Rana said to me this phrase “leaders are a good listener”, she opened my eyes and she let me look to the leadership from different aspect. Thus, in the second year, I forced myself to listen more and talk less. This process helped me to succeed as a leader because whenever I notice some weakness in my skills I try to overcome this struggle and learn new skills.

Adding to the previous point, being a leader increase the person opportunity to relate well to people. Most leaders have to communicate with other people in order to organize certain events. For example, when I was a leader at the university, I used to contact more than five professors a day. Therefore, most university’ professors know me because I used to talk to them frequently. Furthermore, When I graduated I was able to get many recommendations from them and that helped me in my future career.

In conclusion, I encourage individuals to become a leader in their societies rather than being just a member.