Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

Finding a proper occupation is one of the most controversial subjects, which often provoke many discussions. Some people keep endorsing the claim that it is better for infants to work in a field similar to their parents’ job whereas others dismiss this idea and prefer to choose a job differential to their parents’ field of work. My firm conviction is that working in a field similar to our parents is a better choice. In what follows, I will thoroughly elucidate what rationales my perspective is based on.

The first and most significant reason why I am of this opinion is that parents have decades of work experience in that field, and they have built on practical connections and working opportunities with other work force in this market. Indeed, it is indisputable that their colleagues or employers can give a helping hand, and facilitate the complicated rout of entering the job market, and their credit created by years of working in this field is helpful for us too. My own experience as an architect that have chosen to work in a related field to her father’s, is a compelling example of this claim. Given that my father is a civil engineer, he has been working on various construction projects throughout the city. Right after my education he offered me to design the architectural plan and façade of one of his projects. Only later after its construction, I was offered multiple projects by other employers to design their projects. In fact, this opportunity provides me the chance to introduce my concepts and design approach to others in this highly competitive job market and obviously, I was assumed as a master architect in the shadow of my father’s credit.

Secondly, parents are experts in their career and after decades of gathering experience are totally aware of potential intricacies in that special field. Accordingly, they count as a valuable in touch treasure for us in order to learn required knowledge and skills. In view of this opportunity, we can always stay one step forward from our competitors as long as our parents can transfer their experience to us not only free of charge but also whenever its required. Taking the experience of my own, I had specialized my theoretical major in mathematic during high school education; therefore, like any other student, I encountered many difficulties in solving differential equations. My mother, educated in Mathematics, hopefully helped me to open regardless of time and place; hence, hardly I was graded low and I was always among top students.

To put it in a nutshell, sticking to our parents filed of working can be an outstanding choice, because their social connections can provide us opportunities to commerce our own business as soon as is possible. On the other hand, simply they are capable of helping us with potential technical problems in this way and provide us with an in-touch source of knowledge and skill.