Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Thanks to the improvement of technologies, it is easy to know the events around the world. Knowing these things might be critically important for everyone in the world, no matter the things will affect you or not. I feel this way for two main reasons that I will explore more in following essay.

First of all, knowing things happening in other country will make people be more familiar when the same things happen on them. To be more specific, knowing the events happening around the world, people can have preparations to face those events earlier. For example, last year, the Covid-19 threaten all over the world. Lots of places were suffer from the virus which caused enormous people dead. However, my country, Taiwan, did not have any case of Covid-19 last year. But in this year, Taiwan also underwent the threaten of Covid-19. By knowing about the events and solutions in other countries, Taiwan quickly solved the problem and slow down the virus to spread around the country. If we did not know about the events from other country last year, Taiwan's situation definetly will be more sever than today.

Second, knowing the events happening around the world can boarden one's horizon which can bring lots of benefits for individuals. My experience is the best illustration of this. When I was in junior high school, I kept watching CNN in the morning to learn about the different things happened in other countries. Although these things might be unrelated to me at that time, I still kept maintaining this habits until now. Still, learning these news from TV programs, my international horizon become broader. One day, I work at an international company. These knowledge and the international views make me feel more relax when I communicate with foreigners. I have lots of different topics to talk with them and make them think I am quite professional. In this case, I am outstanding in the company. At last, I became the CEO of that company.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that people should know about events happening around the world. It will not only make you have more time to prepare about how to face those situations but also boarden the horizon which might be benefit to one's career.