The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

“One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately 1/3 of its original force. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the 20 floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further.”

The article said that the owner of the Sunnnyside Towers apartment change the showerhead to minimize the water flow in order to reduce the cost on the water. After one month, changing the first three building of the apartment, the owner have a conclude that the new showerhead should be placed in all buildings. There are some assumptions below need to be explained.

The memo states that although actual readings of water usage are not yet be available, the author assumptions that the change of showerhead can lower the usage. There is no evidence to support the author’s claim. However, the resident in the first three buildings might use the more water, because the water become extremely less than before. For example, taking the shower with the one-third of the water can not clean all the bubbles on the body, so the residents might take three times longer than usual in shower. Then, the water usage might be higher than before. So the owner might base on the objective and clear data of water usage to claim that the change of the showerhead can bring the less water usage.

The memo also states that only few complaints about the low water pressure and o problems have been reported. There is an assumption that the proportion of few complaints are less than 10 percent. The owner need to provide use the percentage of the number of complaints to the number of all residents in the first buildings. For example, if the first buildings has only 10 people, the complaints about the new showerhead have up to 7 people. Indeed, the number of 7 people apparently look a little. Still, having the total number of the base, the 7 people account for 70 percent among the residents in the first building. The showerhead is not that appropriate.

The memo said that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings could increase the profit further. Here is an assumption that the first three building’s resident could represent the whole residents of the twelve buildings. For example, if all of the freshmen of the college live in the first three buildings, being a new neighbor and step in the society only for few months, they might be timid to fight against the owner or older people. They might compliance the rule that is not that appropriate. They want to let other having a great impression on them, so they will not complain about the showerheads.

The author of the article should explain further the assumptions above to make the memo more convincing.