The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

The owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building recommends that restricting water flow for the whole building, which includes all twenty floors, will lead to an increase in Sunnyside Corporation’s profit. However, the suggestion is flawed for four reasons, since it ignores certain crucial assumption. Therefore, in order to strengthen the recommendation, these assumptions needs to be proven true.

First and obviosly, the owner omitted the fact that the results of the ‘pilot project’ had not been available by the time the recommendation was made. By quantitatively proving that restricting water flow would lead to a decrease of operating cost, the suggestion could be made stronger.

Secondly, the owner stated that the new shower-heads would restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of the original. Despite what had been mentioned by the owner, it is unclear whether such approximation was made correctly, and by whom it was made. Thus, it would have been better to support this by actually mentioning that the company who designed and manufactured the showerheads clearly states that the showerhead can lower water flow.

Third, it is undetermined that the new showeheads would actually be sustainable in the longterm. For example, although the showerhead may decrease the water flow, but if it needs to be change more regularly than the old showerhead, then additional cost of maintenance would be needed. Thus, this could negatively affect what was hoped.

Fourth, the it is stated that the showeheads can limit the water flow. However, it is unclear whether limiting the water flow may decrease the water consumption. For example, if the rate of water consumption is increased in the following year, then limiting the water flow would do no difference.

Hence, providing how decreasing water flow would lead to a decrease in water usage will make the suggestion stronger

In conclusion, to at least strengthen the suggestion, the four gaps mentioned above needs to be addressed.