Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear

(This took me more than 30 mins)

Universities around the world are competing to obtain the predicate, ‘a research university’. Why do universities care so much? Whatever the proper answer would be, there is a key step that we need to consider when talking about research; that is funding. The prompt recommends government to not allocate public funds to scientific research that has to ‘clear’ pragmatism. Although this suggestion may actually provide some insights, I argue that a direct practicality of a scientific research should not be held against it in terms of funding the research; for two reasons.

First, the nature of scientific research may not be practically useful during its discovery. However, time may reveal its direct potential to society. For example, the discovery of battery happened in the period where steam machinery dominated the world. The scientists of the time did not have a vision to change internal-combustion-engine cars into electric; even cars were not even been invented yet. The scientist had the option to build a better and more efficient steam machine, but what they did was to seek out and expand our knowledge in science. Today, batteries exists in millions! The total world population is approximately 8 billion people, and it is safe to say millions have access to cell phones. You’ve guessed correctly; cell phones are powered by batteries.

Second, research represents the quality of education. For example, places that are known for good education have the best research opportunities, one of them is the United States. Schools around the country have endowments of billions of dollars. Best belief, many of those dollars would go toward funding the research that their faculty is doing. Seeing American universities rank in the highest table compared to other countries, many start taking into account the aspect of research in the education system. Moreover, a bachelor’s degree in science requires a senior research project with a chosen faculty. This is to apply what one have learned from courses into reality. Therefore, limiting research funds to universities and institution defeats this purpose.

Of course, one can argue that the government has limited funding and there are many funding ‘sinks’ to be filled. Hence, funding research that is not necessarily useful would be the wise thing to do. However, we need to take into account that the amount of monetary resource the government has, is not in particularly small. Therefore, funding in research should not be based on its pragmatism.