The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The manager of the WWAC radio station recommends that to attract the newly moved residents, the said radio must change its format into news or talks from its rock-based. The manager stated that there is a decline interest in music, given that a decline in local sales of recorded music keeps progressing. However, the proposition is flawed and in need of three evidence to support it.

To begin, it is not proven that the new residents are avid listeners of the radio. The manager encourages the radio in his memorandum to turn the residents into listeners of WWAC. On the other hand, it is possible that they may not have access to radios in the first place. Moreover, there is a potential that even if they have access to a radio, they might not prefer it as means of entertainment. Hence, changing the format would do little in increasing the total number of WWAC listeners.

Secondly, the manager assumes that the residents are interested in the said format. It is stated that the format (news or talk) is popular in the area. However, we know that the residents are just moved in, and are new to the area. Perhaps, in the region where they came from rock-music is popular. Remembering that they are retired; it is possible that the classic rock period is when they are still young.

Furthermore, the manager assumes the decline of local sales in music records is an evidence of a disinterest in music. More importantly, it is unclear whether the sales are made by the new residents. There is a potential that they tune in to music streaming platform, which shows they are interested in music; and the local sales in music is not a strong evidence. Therefore, the suggestion would not prove effective.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed due to its dependency to several unwarranted facts. If the manager is able to show the three evidence above true, perhaps by doing more research or niche survey. Then, it is possible to evaluate the viability of changing WWAC’s format.