Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

(This essay was done within the actual test time; 30 mins)

Today, with the increasing attention on education, the role of a teacher is significantly being put into the spotlight. One thing to note: teachers are employees. With this in mind, the prompt recommends schools and governments to base their salaries on the performance of the students. One may realize that such topic is not a trivial one. However, I argue that the salary of a teacher should be valued based on the performance of their students, for two reasons.

First, by implementing the recommendation teachers are given more incentive to simply teach well. Many suggest that if an educator received a tenure-ship from where he/she is teaching, it means they have done extremely well doing so. One can argue that a tenure may lead to a buffer in terms of a teacher’s progress on excellency in teaching, since it is guaranteed that they will be employed for a presumably long time. Thus, giving an incentive for the teacher by evaluating their student’s performance linearly to their salary will push the teacher to keep demonstrating excellence.

Furthermore, teachers will find new teaching techniques. For example, if many of the students are under-performing in the class, the teacher in charge would in effect receive a low salary. Thus, to keep sustaining themselves and their family, teachers are incentivized to find new techniques in teaching that can encourage the class to sufficiently learn, and master the topic.

Despite all of this, it needs to be mentioned that such recommendation does not have a right or wrong answer. However, based on the reasons above, by implementing the suggestion teachers would put more effort into teaching and making sure that their students would do well.