The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

The manager of Classical Shakespeare Theater of Bardville recommended that they should start a ‘Shakespeare in the Park’ program to attract new audience. Although they have tried to concentrate on advertising, only a few were successful. The proposition is based on Avon Repertory Company’s increase of profits by 10 percent following the inauguration of the ‘Free Plays in the Park’ program they did two years ago. However, four questions must be properly addressed for the suggestion to have an impactful result on Classical Shakespeare Theater’s profit.

First, are there any other ways to increase the profit other than implementing the program? It is possible that by lowering the operating cost of the theater would lead to an increase of revenue, hence, profit. For example, the theater may employ different actors. In this case, actors that are more affordable.

Second, will the program conducted by Avon Repertory Company have the same effect? There could be a possibility that the two ‘company’ are located in different areas. Further, we should ask, what park should the program be realized? For example, Avon could be located in locations where a large population of people fancied themselves a theatrical enthusiast.

Third, the manager puts an emphasis on drawing new audience, however, what did they do such that the current ones are not interested anymore? Perhaps, the theater keeps playing the same plays every weekends. Hence, people might not be interested to come to the theater again and prefer something new.

Fourth, did the increased profit of Avon solely came from the program? It could be because of various reasons. For example, it is not impossible that a few months ago, they moved to a smaller theater. Hence, the operating cost would be cheaper. They might have shows of different genres. As a result, a wide demographic of people could be attracted to attend their performances.

In conclusion, before properly addressing the viability of the proposition, these questions must be evaluated. If not, it is unclear whether the program will lead to an increase in theater’s profit.