The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

The prompt stated a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell, recommending that the town should build a golf course and resort hotel. This suggestion is based on the report that Ocean View experienced a 30 percent increase in tax revenue. However, the proposition is flawed because of three reasons.

First, it is unclear whether the increased of tax revenues in Ocean View was an effect of the new golf course or hotel. It is mentioned that new business were opening. However, it was not implicitly indicated that it was due to the building project. Yes, many businesses are attracted to consumer traffic; and it is exactly what the golf course and hotel are providing. On the other hand, it can also be true that the consumer traffic of these places low and the revenue is mainly coming from the locals that are intrigued by the new businesses.

Second, we do not know whether Hopewell have sufficient land mass or environment to accommodate the new course and hotel. For example, if the town are saturated with skyscrapers, building a golf course around it would not be recommendable. It can be dangerous for the neighboring buildings if a golf ball suddenly went off the course. Further, provided that there is no enough land, then the government must sacrifice something in order to make room. For instance, the government can choose to build the hotel on top of a city park. Doing so contributes to loss of greenery which can negatively affect the esthetic of the place.

Third, even if we have given the benefit of the doubt to the recommendation, it cannot be determined that new businesses will start coming into Hopewell. Many believe that successful business started off with performing an appropriate market research. The strategy was beneficial for attracting businesses to Ocean View. However, Hopewell can have a different demographics. Hence, not all businesses can flourish in the city. For instance, if there aren’t many European gastronomy enthusiast in the city. As a result, it is unlikely for restaurants alike to be built.

For the reasons above, the memo from the mayor contained flawed arguments. Therefore, we need to address these assumptions to strengthen proposition.