A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Education is one of the parameters on how well a country is doing. Consequently, governments around the world are racing to give the best possible education to the people. The prompt recommends the enforcement of a requirement for students to study the same national curriculum. This is no easy task to tackle. However, granting a standardization of a nation’s curriculum may give a leg-up for students coming from a disadvantage backgrounds and locations for two reasons.

To begin, a good education system is where everybody nationwide has the same chances to learn and find what they desire. For instance, Indonesia is consisted of many islands. Some are more rural than the others. Due to this, the lifestyle differs. Thus, it is natural to expect that students from Jakarta which is the capital of Indonesia would have a better exposure to foreign language education. How about the students in other cities and islands? If the curriculum enforced by the government does not support foreign language education and there are no private language schools that are widely available, how will students in these locations realize that they might or might not have a passion for learning languages at the first place?

Further, the standardized curriculum would support a fair education in terms the subject materials. Consider two schools; first that has good resources so that they can educate the students more in-depth, and the second only has cover a fraction of that. Comparably, graduates of these schools would have acquired a different volume of knowledge. Hence, if the graduates would hold different chances in applying to a college. It is suitable to assume the second school would be mainly found in remote regions. Therefore, students coming from these regions would be less competitive in the university’s applicants pool.

For the above reasons, it is beneficial for a nation to follow the suggestion given by the prompt. However, one needs to consider also what denying the suggestion would provide against. With educational differences occur various regions, schools can be more competitive between each other in tailoring their programs. Despite this, the greater good of the nation is not put forth, and only some can be prosperous.