Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently, there is a widespread believe that people do not need to worry about events happening around the world if they would not influence their daily lives. From my perspective, however, it is still necessary to know what is happening in the world.

In the first place, although many events seem unrelated to our daily lives, it still might influence us in certain aspect because we are not isolated. If we can see the trend of development through these events and do something about it, we may benefit from it. For example, my dad has been buying stocks for a few years but did not earn any money. Last year he started to read the news everyday. On the television, he found out a new kind source of energy will be widely used in the future. So, he looked for the companies that are into this field and bought their stocks, and he earned some money this time. It is clear that information of what's happening around the world can help us live a better life if we can make a good use of it.

Furthermore, getting know the event of the outside world can broaden our horizons. We can have a better understanding of the world and have fun during this process. Take my friend Lily as an example. She didn’t read a lot of news when she was young because her family could not afford a computer. But after she went to the university, she read news on the school’s computer everyday. Only after half a semester, we can tell she has changed a lot. She became more outgoing and always shared some deep opinion during the discussion. When we wonder how she did that, she said that getting knowledge of outside world has helped her a lot. It made her change the way of thinking and become more rational, and she also felt very satisfied when she knew more about the world.

In conclusion, getting know the information from the outside world is important, because the information can be useful since we are all connected, and getting know the information can give us pleasure and help us think deeper.