Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to

improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently there is a widespread belief that the government should spend more money to improve transportation instead of to improve the internet access. From my perspective, however, it is a better strategy to spend money on the internet.

In the first place, internet has brought us so much convenience and it will be used in a wider field in the future. However, in some poorer area, some people still can not have stable access to the internet, therefore they can not enjoy the convenience, and some of them are left behind the society. For example, when the pandemic broke out, students had to stay home and had online courses. But some students who live in the countryside do not have access to the internet, therefore they can not have class for several months. When they returned to school, they felt upset that they were not able to catch up the teacher. Internet is playing an important part in our lives, and it will become even more important in the future, so the government should definitely spend the money on the regions that has weak internet access.

Furthermore, public transportation may not be so important in the future because with the development of internet, more and more people can work at their own place. In the past, people have to go to different place like factories and office to work, so transportation is important because it can influence many people's daily life. But nowadays, a variety of new jobs come into being, and they do not need people to go to another place to work. For instance, my sister used to work in a school and she had to take a subway everyday. She often complain that the government should build more lines because it is too crowded. However, her opinion has changed recently, because now the school is encouraging remote learning, so she do not have to go to the workplace anymore. I think in the future there will be more job options that do not require people to commute, therefore the government should not spend too much money on it.

In conclusion, internet will play an increasingly important part in people’s life, while public transportation will not be that important in the future, so the government should spend more money on improving the internet access.