Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently ther is a widespread believe that all the students should take history classes no matter what field they are studying in. From my perspective, however, I don't think all the students have to study history at school.

In the first place, studying history would take up too much time, so students will not have enough time to studying in their own field. An additional course means more assignment and more exam, which will take a lot of time and energy. For example, my friend Mike study physics in university, but he has to take a history class for one year. He told me that now he doesn't have enought time to study physics because he needs to write a history article every two weeks, which has occupied too much of his time. And this could not provide any help for his study in physics because there is few relation between history and physics, so he feels quite upset about this. The students' major job in a university is studying in thier own field, soit is not wise to let history class take their time.

Furthermore, although history is important, taking classes is not the only way to study history. Students have a lot of access to studying history, and if they are not forced to do that, they might be more willing to study history. Take my classmate Lily as an example. She had to study history when she was a freshman, but she was really reluctant to do so. She told me that she couldn't stay focus when she had to read the history books, and rarely learned anything during her first year of college. But after the course ended, she begin to watch some video and read articles about history, and found herself interested in it. People can learn a lot more about history if they are not forced to do it, but have interested in it.

In conclusion, I think school should not require students to take history class because it will take too much time and most students won't be happy to do it therefore the knowledge they get is limited.