Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree that it is important to know about events happening around the world even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. The reasons are as follows.

First of all, people should have broad horizons, and knowing about events occurring around the world can broaden their horizons. For example, I read a lot of news from TV channels of different countries, such as CNN, BBC, DW, etc., and those news may sometimes have different opinions on the same things. Therefore, by doing so, I can understand different aspects from different countries on the exact same things. Also, that makes me think out of the box and learn how to realize international affairs.

Secondly, people should always learn new things, and knowing about events happening outside their own countries helps them learn new knowledge. For example, I have learned a lot of cultures and lifestyles of different countries or regions by watching TV channels that introduce these. By doing so, if one day I have a chance to travel to a certain country, I will then be more accustomed to their cultures and also will not offend local people easily.

Last but not least, people should prepare for confronting things out of control, and being aware of events happening around the world allows them to do so. For example, the Ukraine-Russia war is happening right now, and that makes people care about how to defend my own country against external threats. Furthermore, people all over the world start to find ways to maintain peace among countries that have significant conflicts.

Therefore, I totally believe that it is vital for people to be aware of events happening around the world, even if those events may not affect their daily lives. Knowing about events happening in different countries does help people to broaden their horizons, learn new things, and even know how to prepare for unpredictable events.