Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree that the rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict for the following reasons.

First, young people are creative, and the rules that societies today expect them to follow are too strict for them to perform their creativity. For example, some citizens think that graffiti makes the city look mess, so some governments prohibit their people from graffitiing on the wall. However, a lot of young people who love to express their amazing ideas by painting on walls, and if graffiti is not allowed, those talented young people will lose a platform to show their creativity.

Second, young people nowadays have their personal perspectives, just like adults. Some rules that societies expect them to follow are too strict, such as limiting them from voting. For example, many countries do not allow their citizens who are below 20 years old to vote. Nevertheless, in my opinion, eighteen-year-old young people are mature enough to make their own choices. I believe that they have ability to express their perspectives after they graduate from high school because what they have learned before graduation, such as civilization, public society, are sufficient for them to take responsibility on their own choices.

Finally, people nowadays need to make their knowledge up to date frequently. Some parents limit their children from using phones or computers all the time. If so, I think that it may make their children obsolete because they cannot access the Internet at any time they want to search things or receive news. For example, some parents in Taiwan set a time limit for their kids to use the phones or computers because they think those electronic devices may cause eye problems. However, without unlimited usage of phones and computers, they may have to keep their confusion in mind and wait for the time that is allowed to use those searching tools, but sometimes they may forget what they have problems on and that makes them lose an opportunity to obtain knowledges, which may be precious for their lives.

Due to the reasons mentioned above, I agree that the rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.