Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree that it is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation for the following reasons.

First, people nowadays rely on the Internet a lot for entertainment. If the governments spend money to improve Internet access, people will be able to use the Internet not being limited by their locations. For example, I love to watch TV shows and movies on Netflix, and when I go camping in the mountains, I also want to watch them before I sleep. If there is the Internet with decent speed, I can kill time with my favorite TV shows in my camp site.

Second, people sometimes need to access the Internet for work on trains or subways, because their jobs usually have high demand for the Internet. If the government spend money to improve Internet access in the train tunnels, people can use their computer to work on those transportations. For example, as a computer science student, I often need to access the remote server in my lab on trains to run experiments and that requires stable Internet. The government of my country, Taiwan, it spends a lot of money to improve the Internet access inside the tunnel. As a result, I can do my job with no worry on trains with the stable Internet access.

Finally, I think that public transportation is not the highest priority among the social issues. To be more specific, I believe that poor public transportation will not effect the society immediately, and people can endure the poor public transportation for a while. For example, some buses in Taiwan are old and smell bad, and some bus drivers are rude to the passengers, but it can still take the passengers to the destination, which is the main goal for public transportation. Thus, I believe that public transportation will not be the issue which governments need to spend money on when there is another issue existing.

For the reasons mentioned above, I agree that it is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.