Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. The reasons are as follows.

First of all, teachers nowadays have less influence on students than in the past, and that made them be less appreciated and valued by society than in the past. For example, students today have easier access to the resources of what they want to learn than they did before. They can acquire a lot of knowledge from videos on YouTube now, and also there are a lot of online learning platforms such as Coursera, Udemy, etc. Therefore, students nowadays are less influenced by their teacher, while in the past they could probably only obtain knowledge from teachers.

Secondly, teachers nowadays have less impact on academic research than they did in the past, so they are less appreciated and valued by society than they were before. For example, in the field of Artificial Intelligence, most giant technology companies today hire researchers with great reputations to do research in the domain, while in the past, most of the great researchers are professors in universities. Hence, teachers nowadays have less contributions to academia, and that may be the reason that they are less valued and appreciated now.

Finally, teachers in today's society have relatively ordinary salaries than they did before, and that leads to the decreased extents of respect for them. For example, teachers used to be a very high-paid job, and a lot of people dreamed of becoming one. However, many other high-paid jobs appear now while teachers' salaries remain unchanged. Thus, teacher became a job with average salaries, which causes that less people nowadays dream to be a teacher. As a result, the social status of teachers fall down from a significantly high point to an ordinarily medium point.

To conclude, teachers nowadays are less appreciated and valued by society than they were in the past because they have less influence on students and less contribution to academia, and also their salaries become relatively low now. Therefore, I definitely agree with the statement.