Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Some people believe it is essential to follow the news all around the world and know what is happening in other countries. I think it is more beneficial for people not to know about many events worldwide. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

Firstly, many events happen daily in the world, and most are not good news. Many wars and crimes are happening worldwide, and knowing about them makes people stressed and anxious. Thus, after a while, many people will suffer from anxiety and depression. Therefore, People should know less about events in other countries to prevent mental and spiritual problems. My own experience is an appealing example of this. I used to watch the news on television and follow it on social media every day. At that time, I was bombarded with a lot of information about cruel people and governments. After some months, I felt depressed and could barely sleep without nightmares. When I went to the doctor to treat myself, he told me to be far away from sad news. Fortunately, after diminishing hearing the news, I could feel happier and slept well.

Furthermore, when people want to know about events worldwide as much as possible, they have to spend a lot of time gathering information and news. Therefore, they do not have enough time to do their daily tasks, and even they cannot concentrate on their studies or jobs. In that case, people waste their time and do not do their responsibilities. For example, when I was spending my time listening to the news, I did not have enough time to study, so I failed one of my exams at university at that time. If I had spent less time following the news, I would have been able to study and pass my exam.

In conclusion, although some people think it is important to know what has occurred in different countries, I believe there is no need to know about events in other countries. Not only do people feel stressed out, but they can also spend time on their duties.