Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's modern world, people get loads of information from many sources all over the planet. Some people pay attention to every news in the world and pursue them, and some do not. As far as I am concerned, I totally believe that people should not care about events happening on the planet if that information does not affect them. The reasons why I think so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, knowing about all of the events that happen across the globe can cause stress in our lives. I mean, almost every day, bad things are happening around the world, and there is nothing we can do about them. Some countries are involved in wars with other countries, and some infected with civil wars. Also, there is vast poverty and hunger in many countries, especially African countries. Pursuing these kinds of news and events will disrupt and adversely affect our happiness. For instance, every day, there is horrible news about Syria and Yemen. There is a civil war in those countries, and unfortunately, many people die every day. If people pursue those events, they feel terrible, and their tranquility will be gone.

Second, by pursuing the events that are not important for us and do not affect our lives, we will get distracted from ourselves. To explain more, if people spend too much time watching foreign news and discuss them and think about them, they may lose some important events that happen in their vicinity and directly affects their lives. My own example illustrates this reality. A few years ago, when I was in the last year of high school, I was studying for the University Entrance Exam. In those days, the United States had just attacked Iraq, and everyone was listening to the news, although it did not affect their lives. I pursued every news and every event daily and almost forgot about my essential exam. They established a deadline for enrolling in the exam, but I was so busy with the news of the war. I missed that critical news, and accordingly, I missed the deadline. I could not take part in the exam that year, which was very bad.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that people should not pay attention to news and events that do not concern them. Because they will get sad and stressed, and they will be distracted by the news that directly affects them.