Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this era of technology and science, being knowledgeable and cautious about the controversial issues of the contemporary world is an unavoidable part of every individual's life. Actually, a vast number of people believe that it is not crucial to get involved in every single event, especially when it has not a direct impact on one's life. However, I hold the view that to be a valuable part of society, even if an event has no influence on an individual's life, one has to engage the situation and get enough information about the surrounding areas. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, there is no way to predict the happenings of the near future and we cannot ensure that a specific obstacle that has been widespread once in a specific part of the world, will not affect our lives in the future. To be more specific, what happens in this world, especially natural disasters are out of humans' control and people are not capable of preventing catastrophes that may occur during their lifetime. Therefore, gathering information about what is happening in this world of mysteries and randomness, can help people overcome the obstacles and get prepared for the potential hardships that may once take place. For instance, Coronavirus was first found in China and people had a really hard time tackling the virus and taking care of the patients. However, this virus didn't remain just in that part of the world and soon it appeared to spread all over the globe and affected numerous people all around the world. By the way, from the researches that have been done in China, people knew that by getting isolated and keeping a specific distance with other human beings, they can prevent getting sick. So, it is true that at first it just influenced a group of people, but if people were not aware of the ways that can help them protect themselves from it, it would also affect more people and resulted in an awkward situation.

Another reason that deserves some words here is that human beings are dependent on their relationships and seeing one member of their family or friends tackling an awkward situation saddens them. For this reason, people have to know about different events to help their family members and friends in case of being a part of that event. To illustrate, I go back to my previous example of Coronavirus. Actually, my sister lives in China and when this virus spread out, I was really anxious and worried about it. So, knowing more about the virus itself, ways to protect oneself from being affected and the medical cures helped me to relieve my own stress and also help my sister to better overcome the problem. Hence, since we all have people who are important to us and may live far from us, we have to know what is going on in the world to communicate with each other and hand out the problems to relieve the levels of pain and stress.

To sum it up, getting involved in happenings that are less likely to affect our own lives can help us prevent from being affected by the same situation in the future and also, let us know how to defeat the problem in the time of occurrence, either for ourselves or our friends living in other parts of the globe.