Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, due to the advent of technology and the internet, communicating with people all over the globe and making new friends has become way easier and people can easily keep connected with their friends and family members. In this way, a vast number of people believe that it is more important to be capable of engaging with new people rather than sticking to the previously built and long-term relationships. However, I am of the opinion that having stronger friendships with a small group of people can be more fruitful. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, friendship relies on trust. Evidently, a great friendship can not be maintained in case of trust betrayals and this is what one can not expect from a short-term friendship. Unquestionably, trusting people takes a great deal of time and making new friends, people will just be able to chitchat with each other and talk about some general topics. However, having a group of loyal friends, people can easily talk about even personal events of their lives and get some valuable advice from the ones that really care about them. For instance, I remember in high school, I became friends with a girl wich I started to know for about a week and I easily trusted her at the beginning and told her something about my other friend. After a few days, I found that she revealed my secret and not only spoiled my face among other students but also ruined my relationship with the other girl. Hence, from that time I learned to avoid trusting people whom I know for a short period and instead, try to strengthen my relationship with people who have always been there for me.

Another reason that worths some words here is that long-term friendships contain some valuable lessons about life. To be more specific, when trying to maintain a strong long-term friendship, people learn to be patient, lowering their expectations to encounter serious conflicts, and increase the levels of endurance while facing difficulties. Undoubtedly, good friends are the ones that sometimes avoid their personal benefits to help you achieve your goals during life and do you a favor in order to make you happy and this is because your happiness, results in theirs as well. So, being capable of maintaining stronger and longer relationships with a smaller group of people will be definitely more advantageous than having superficial ones.

To sum it up, I believe that people who are competent to maintain long-term friendships are probably happier because they are less potential to tackle betrayal situations and also they can experience strong feelings and develop intriguing emotions in their friendships.