Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I believe that being cognitive about events going on in the world can hardly bring any negative effects because when you do so, you understand the world you live in better. 21 century is an era where physical barrier such as space is not a factor that blocks the connection among countries anymore. Therefore, I will argue that events happening around the world that seems very far from people’s daily life may be very relevant to individuals.

First, simply being aware of the significant international events or issues can make people do better decision that has a positive contribution to society. Take the plastic recycling industry as an example. The plastic recycling industry was working just fine not a few years ago, however, an agreement signed by China, the place where the largest plastic recycling industry is located, has banned recycling companies in China from importing plastic waste from other countries. As a result, it causes the whole recycling system to break down. If people are aware of this issue, I believe that they will likely reduce the use of plastic, which if everyone does so, can really release the burden on the plastic recycling industry.

In addition, understanding global events not only benefits society, but it also benefits individuals because it allows people to learn lessons from other’s failures or successes. For example, Taiwan is one of the few countries that have successfully keep the coronavirus pandemic under control. When people learn how Taiwan executes the prevention measures, even if they are from the other side of the world, they can still benefit from Taiwan’s success.

Finally, helping others, I believe, is one of the duties as a global citizen, and knowing events happening around the world is a great opportunity that allows people to do so. Although contributing to society might seem to be too unpractical at first, there are many ways to accomplish it, such as donating to organizations that are working on certain global issues.

All in all, I believe that in the current time, there are no such huge events that are completely irrelevant to people’s daily life. Therefore, when we realize that everyone is connected in this world, there’s no way that we can be careless about things happening around the world.