Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answers.

In this fast-changing world nowadays, the idea of lives in the past are simpler hence happier is everywhere from whether the post-modernists artists or normal citizens. I personally disagree with such assertion because I think there’s some misunderstanding in those ideas, which I will elaborate the details in the following paragraph.

The first reason is about the misconception saying that people in the past are happier and more satisfied because we tend to long for an idyllic live style but ignore the hidden disadvantage and dark side during the time period before science was born. From a perspective of a person living in this modern, it’s reasonable to make such assumption. However, it’s just that people in the past were bothered by other factors compared to the presents, which therefore, it’s fair to say that people in the past weren’t happier. In fact, according to statistic, more than half of the farmers and families died from severe famine and diseases, which I think it’s pure horrible.

Secondly, just to make things clear, disagreeing doesn’t necessary means that I believe lives nowadays are happier. In fact, I think it remains the same throughout history. I want to start with an almost over-used slogan “technology originates from humanity”, because that perfectly explains why people weren’t more satisfied and happier. To put that into a real-world context, if people were happy with what they had in the past, the invention of many astonishing technology and the industrial revolution in the 19th century, which were started due to the dissatisfaction of their status quo, just wouldn’t have happened.

In summary to what has been illustrated and discussed above, the idea that people are less happy and less satisfied doesn’t hold because it’s an mistaken image based on the misunderstanding of the idyllic live, and meanwhile, it contradicts with how fast the society is being improved, which is based on dissatisfaction and desire.