Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people believe that having an old friend for life is the best thing as they get a lot of great memories. But I contrast with this, I believe making new friends is the way of life and one should make new friends for the following reasons.

First, you got a lot of memories with old friends, but making new memories is the way of life as it brings more joy. For example, I had a childhood dream of doing skydiving, however my old friends were too afraid of jumping from the sky, but while in college I made new friends who were just as energizing as I were. They participated with me in my adventure of sky diving and we made a great new memory, giving me a chance to fulfil my childhood dream.

Second, every person in the world carries their own perspective to view things & that is the greatest thing that we can learn from them. If you are stuck with old friends that means you are stuck with limited perspective. Meeting new people, befriending them opens possibility to view the world differently and overcome your fears. For instance, previously I was annoyed by beggars, but my neighbour whom I just befriended with showed the reality behind them and made me understand their situation thus giving a whole new perspective to the situation.

Third, Friends help you get out of comfort zone. Old friends can be helpful in getting out of certain situations, but new friends opens new possibility of exploring more ways to get out of comfort zone and endeavouring more adventures. For instance, I was too afraid to get inside swimming pool but my new friends at college made me learn to swim and also taught me ways to help someone who is drowning and now not only I know how to swim but I am a lifeguard at a nearby beach, saving a lot of lives.

Thus, I believe making new friends brings more fun to life and give you a chance to explore more about yourself and get out of the comfort zone. Each new friend being something more to life. But that does not mean you forget old friend, as old is gold.