Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people think keeping old friends is important than making new friends because there are so many unforgettable memories with them. However from my view, I disagree with this statement for the following reasons.

First and foremost, compared with keeping old friends, making new friends help me improve my communication and comprehension ability. Both of these two abilities play a crucial role in future job hunting. However, in modern society, due to rapid development of electronic devices, more and more university students stick to online chatting apps, leading to huge decline in their performance on face-to-face communication. To be more specific, during the process of chatting with new friends, I may meet some problems such as conflict in interests, or holding different opinions on a certain topic. The different opinions force me to understand how others consider this topic and why their statements make sense, which improves our comprehension skills potentially. At the same time, I also need to express my own opinions to my friends, thus enhancing my communication ability. If we master these two skills, interacting with people from all kind of fields will not be a hot potato anymore.

Secondly, making new friends with different fields can provide me with lots of precious resources in the future career. Nowadays, it turns out that social network is becoming more and more important in one’s success. It is often the case that people with poor social relationships always struggle to tackle the problems they encounter without getting any assistance from others. For instance, when I was a freshman student in my university I once participated in a robot design competition. After our group completed all the programming staffs, how to build a robot with mechanical components really confused us because all of our group members are major in electronic engineering. Then I thought of Steve, one new friend I made last week who is major in mechanical engineering. Thanks to his instruction , our group quickly completes the building part and finally owned a third-prize. This unforgettable experience always remind me to make new friends as many as possible because you never know when they will do a great help.

To be honest, keeping old friends does have its own necessity. We need old friends to share our feelings at the bottom of our heart, which we may not share with our new friends. Nevertheless, I insist on the importance of making new friends because no one can keep a friend forever. Although seems pitiful, it is usually the case that we will lose connection with most of our old friends due to the changing life situation. The only way to compensate this is making new friends, finding new partners that can be relied on.

In conclusion, I think making new friends is more important than keeping old friends for the above reasons.