Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Humanbeings need friends in all stages of their living, and there are two ways two have friends, staying with an old one or try to make relationship with a new person. Personally, I believe it is more beneficial to maintain a friend rather than to make new friendly relationships. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in following essay.

First of all, people who are in relation for so many years, have known each other's personality and interests, which is important for enjoying each others' company. Every man and woman has their own characteristics and beliefs, earned during their own life experiences. Satisfaction and amity are come when people, friends specially, respect to these thoughts and try doing what is acceptable in their partner's view and is not in contrast with his/her interests. As a result, being familiar with a person's history and behaviours would cause more happiness in a friendship. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I have friends knowing each other since childhood, as well as ones whom I met recently in college. I maybe have fun with latter and enjoy spending time with them, but whenever I want to converse deeply and express my opinions and ideas, I choose the former and I am more convenient in their presence.

Secondly, Older friends, including colleagues and classmates, are more supportive and helpful, which is a crucial feature in long-term relationships. These type of friends, because of their history, tend more to support each other and compensate each others' past favours. In addition, instinctively, individuals are more commitment to their earlier relationships and attempt to maintain those by backing up their friends whenever it is needed. Young companions, however, have no cogent reason to sacrifice their own benefit in order to help a new so-called friend.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that keeping an aged rooted friendship are more advantageous, and consequently preferable. This is because of the deepest understanding caused by knowing each other for a longer time, as well as the supportive role older friends play in case of immense problems.