Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some people contend that it is more important for students to learn facts because it can save lots of time. However, I believe that it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts since they can improve their intellectual better and cultivate the ability to think independently.

First, we can improve our intellectual by understanding ideas and concepts. To be specific, once I was doing my math assignments and could not figure out how to do it that I spent a lot of time. Then I asked the math teacher for help and he taught me patiently. Finally, I know what was wrong with my calculation method. I understood thoroughly how to do this kind of mathematics problems and the concept of the calculation method. While next time when I faced similar kind of questions, I could answer it correctly.

Secondly, we can cultivate our ability to think independently. For instance, my sister was once studying history. She found that it was difficult to remember historic events since there are so many events. Then I suggested her to find out the background and factors of every historic event. In the end, she found it easier to remember them by understanding the background behind the events.

Finally, it is more fun for us to learn. To illustrate, one time I was doing a physical experiment at school and did not have the interest to do it. But after I looked up the experiment’s concepts, I felt that is was interesting and have the motivation to do it.

In conclusion, learning facts, understanding ideas and concepts are all important while we learn. However, it is better that we understand the ideas and concepts first then learn facts.