Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There is a saying that the old friends are more valuable than new friends, which I think is debatable. Making new friends has abundant advantages, which can benefit everyone in many aspects.

To begin with, imagine that one day you meet a sailor in a bar. He has so many narratives to tell, which include how he traveled to different countries, how he fought against the storm and wave and so on. He is so irresistible that you want immediately to be his friend and listen to his stories, so that you can broaden your horizons. Making new friends always brings something new to our lives, and then brings us new possibilities. We may even start a new life after that. For instance you has made a friend of whom once worked as a volunteer in Vietnam, you may be inspired to go to poor areas to do voluntary work and find the meaning of your life.

Besides, when we enter an absolutely new environment, new friends can help us adapt to it. For example, you have moved to another state to get an undergraduate education. You are unfamiliar with anything there and are having a hard time in your lonely freshman year. Your old friends can do nothing but listen to your complaints and try to comfort you, which cannot help much. However, new friends made in the university can show you around the city and familiarize you with it, which supports you a lot!

Last but not least, the love of your life may be one of your new friends. Making new friends means getting to know people who are not your acquaintance, which creates a chance to know your potential boyfriend/girlfriend. If you spend so much time keeping your old friends that you have no chance to have an appointment with someone new, how can you find your true love?

Although making new friend is of so much importance, to keep old friends is no doubt worthy. The old friends have companied us for many years, so they are proofed to be very reliable. And the relationship between us is much more stable than that between new friends and us. However, the idea of making new friends should be always in our mind, and that brings us more old friends eventually.