Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a saying that there will be fewer cars in use twenty years later. I do not agree with this prediction, and the reasons are in many aspects.

First of all, consider the growing population and public transport. The population on this planet has been increasing sharply since the 20th century. Some researchers predicted that there would be over 2.5 billion people living on the Earth in twenty years. Even though the public transport system is developing at high speed, to serve so many people will still be tough for it. Thus, people still have to rely on cars, their own cars. Also, with the economy growing, people will have more income, so more people will afford cars in twenty years. In this situation, how can the number of cars decrease?

In addition, cars which use electricity rather than fossil fuel, those designed by Tesla for instance, will be pervasive in the future. An explosion in the development of environment -friendly cars has taken place since 2010. There are already over 10 companies which are dedicated to designing and manufacturing this kind of cars in China, and the traditional car enterprises like BMW and Ford have launched their electric cars as well.

Electric cars nowadays are capable of running about 400 kilometers without recharging, and this will no doubt be improved with the advance in battery, making them as useful as the traditional cars. This category of cars does not produce greenhouse gas and just need electricity which can be produced using sunshine. So, the wide use of these cars will diminish the concern that cars are harmful to the environment. With such an advantage, purchasing these cars are and will be encouraged, and decreasing the number of cars is no longer required.

We can imagine that in twenty years, the infrastructure will be better and more widespread that it can benefit almost everyone, and the environment-friendly cars will replace most traditional cars, benefiting the whole ecosystem. The number of cars will not be a problem, and people will innovate more and more wonderful cars.