Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own

With the Lightning speed of technological evolution, it becomes easy to access a variety of news for the whole world by sitting at home. News channels broadcast different news from a variety of their resources. In this regard, many people like to watch and listen to news from similar sources to their own ideas, while others think that it is crucial to watch and listen to news channels that present different thought processes. From my perspective, the latter view carries more weight. I take the position on account for the following reasons.

The first reason that makes me hold the belief that giving an opportunity to watch different news channels might help people to uncovered real truth and facts. It is a normal human tendency that people usually like to hear or listen from others who also think similarly. Needless to say, having single-sided knowledge only makes people biased and rational. However, hearing or reading different perspectives provoke our minds to search for the accuracy of our original beliefs. Ultimately, people will build their opinions depending upon the logical facts. To elaborate this more, when I got my first chance to vote at the age of 18, I was sure about whom I was going to vote for, and my decision was very much influenced by my friends at one time. But my father suggested me to follow various debates on news channels so that I could know more about upcoming the presidential election. Consequently, going through different discussions about the presidential election from many political spoke people has helped me to realize my mistake. Had I not seen those arguments from people who used to carry a distinctive stance, I would have voted for the wrong person for my country.

Another equally noteworthy reason to bear in mind that listening and hearing diverse news would enhance people’s tolerance. Sometimes, not having a comprehensive knowledge lead to developing misconceptions in people’s mind, and it is more likely that they would carry that false views for a whole life. On the contrary, watching through different news channels can improve their critical thinking and cognitive ability. Additionally, it helps them to be patient while watching two opponents are arguing with each other. Take my own father’s experience as an example. My father keeps himself very calm and polite whenever he faces conflicts with his friends or colleagues. After watching news channels for many years, he started believing that people do not need to show a strong approach in arguments before discovering a real truth.

All in all, contemplating all remarks, I strongly believe that watching and listening to news will help people to be more flexible and tolerant. Also, it helps them to eliminate biased and prejudiced misconceptions from their mind.