Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

With advent of new technological gadgets, like laptop, tablet and smart phones, people now have access to all sorts of news sources. In face of the overwhelming news sources, some people tend to watch news that present similar ideas with them, while other prefer to watch news with different perspectives and ideas. I, personally, think it is far better to watch news with distinctive opinions and viewpoints based on the following reasons.

First off, news from various sources are biased and it is quite irrational to read or watch news from a single source, actually it makes better sense to be exposed to news that provide different kinds of ideas. Even though it is very essential for news media to be fair and unbiased, nonetheless, in reality, most of the news media are biased and prejudiced. Part of the reasons is that the news sources can be various, like the government, independent institutions or even think tanks. Lots of media or news agencies use phrases like "expert believes", "most people agree" or "observes argue that", all of which are pretty much biased since "most people" is a slippery word. The people might not represent the majority of the people and lack of diversity in terms of race, gender and other demographic factors.

Additionally, being exposed to news with distinctive opinions and ideas can help people to develop critical thinking skills and thus have a fair and more justified stance on certain issues. People varying in past life experience, education background and economic conditions tend to have totally different opinions on certain issues. Having access to different ideas can broaden people's horizons and enrich one's experience. For instance, I took it for granted that every child at an appropriate age has the chance to go to primary school until I watched a documentary about the elementary school enrolment in the poverty-stricken region in my country. Their family can barely feed them and the local government has little educational resource to provide them proper education. This documentary totally changed my perspective on the primary school enrolment in hinterland.

In all, exposure to news with different perspectives has lot of benefits since news sources are generally biased, and by watching news with different opinions we can have a much more fair and clear view.