Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There has been a constant drumbeat on what kind of friend is more valuable, old friends or new friends? Some people contend that friends known for a long time are more worth keeping compared to new friends, while others hold the opposite attitude. From my perspective, they are equally advantageous to us and I will elaborate on this viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, old friends are always the last resort of my life. Due to the close relationship between me and my old friends, I can express my emotion to them without much worry and consideration as I believe them. Because old friends understand my character and interests, they always provide me with most helpful advice and most comforting communication when I am in depression. During the course of my life, every time I feel nervous or depressed, I would call to my friends Terry without hesitation, who has been friend of me for almost twelve years. After conversation with him, every unpleasant feeling clinging to my heart would disappear in no time. That is the incredible power deriving from old friends.

On the other hand, new friendships might be beneficial to our future. As our careers and life keep going forward, unavoidable we will engage entire new people with different cultural backgrounds. Knowing these new friends help us to broaden our horizons and build relationships to recourse might bring positive impact to our future. For instance, after graduating from college, my brother started to work in the financial industry. Despite not sharing the same interest in personal habits and deeper connection with his colleagues, these new friendships help him to have proper preparation for the challenge of the company and give professional advice when it comes to problems. In other words, new friends can be helpful when we are in trouble.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely draw a conclusion that both old and new friendships are worth keeping.