TPO50 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

From the beginning of human civilization, we are on an unstopping journey toward the future, and history always repeats as a circle, Some believe that we can learn lessons from the past and prevent mistakes from happening again. From my perspective, I agree with students should take history courses and I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

Admittedly, some may concern that adding extra courses will leave an unnecessary burden on students. Moreover, students who are majoring in totally different fields. However, obtaining more pieces of knowledge is always helpful and can push communication to a deeper degree.

First, being familiar with own nation's history helps narrow the conflicts between races. A country is possible consists of different races and cultures which usually leads to serious conflict between races due to a lack of understanding. For instance, in early 2020, Tokyo University published an investigation about the association between the diversity of cultural backgrounds and rates of fights during the colonization of Taiwan in world war 2. Taiwan was officially a territory of Japan Empire, on the contrary, the gap between the government and native citizens still occurred numerable fights. The research demonstrated that if the government spend more time understanding the native culture and history, the results might be totally opposed.

In addition, being aware of other countries' history brings an international view. Not only it is important to know one's own culture, but understanding other nations' history also played a crucial role in being comprehensive. To illustrate, imagine having had a serious business meeting with an overseas client and misrecognizing the person with others who share a similar culture, that would be inappropriate. As a result, having the ability to tell the difference of other cultures is important.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely draw a conclusion that adding history courses is necessary. Not only will benefit the entire society but also the individual's awareness of the globe.