TPO50

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critical whether university students should learn history no matter what the students are majoring in. There is no denying that all subjects taught at universities are important. I grant that there are many opinions about this topic; however, all university students should be required to study history, in my opinion. I feel this way for mainly two reasons which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, learning history helps students to know why their majors are important for society. There are many courses at university such as literature, political science, arts, history, physics, mathematics, and so on. All these subjects are important for our society, and this is why they are taught at university. However, many students do not know why their majors are so important. Taking a history course is a good way to learn that. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. I took a history class when I was a freshman, although my major was physics. When I decided on my major, I was interested in physics, but I did not know much about the history of physics. In the history class, I could learn how the technologies such as steam engines, computers, or the Internet had been changing the world. This experience really enhanced my motivation to learn physics.

Second, students can expand their perspectives by communicating with students whose majors are different from them. Requiring students to take history courses helps them to socialize with students from other courses. For example, in the history class, I took at university, I was required to discuss whether technologies had made the world better or not. I strongly stated that technology had made huge contributions to many aspects of our lives without any doubts. However, one of my classmates pointed out some tragedies caused by the misuse of technology, such as nuke weapons. This experience changed my way of thinking and expanded my point of view.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that all university students should take history courses no matter their majors. This is because taking history courses helps students know why their majors are important for our society and expand their perspective by socializing with students whose majors are different.