TPO 54

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

There is no denying that both arts and athletics are valuable for human beings. The government needs to spend money on preserving arts and sports. I grant that there are many opinions about this topic; however, I strongly think that governments should spend more money on athletics support. I have mainly two reasons for this that I will explain in the following essay.

Firstly, supporting athletics helps the government to gain their income more efficiently. There are many world competitions of sports such as soccer, tennis, golf, baseball, and so on in addition to the Olympics, which is the biggest sports festival all around the world. These events have a huge impact on the economy. Many people buy tickets for events, and many people visit the country where the events are held. These people sometimes stay in the country for a while after the events for sightseeing. This means that large sports events represented by Olympic make a huge profit for national income. This helps the government spend more money on other activities that are beneficial for all people in the country, such as enhancing social welfare. Even if the government supports arts, people do not spend more money on going to museums or theaters than sports events. This might lead to little impact on the government's income.

Next, artists need less supports than sports players because they can earn money by themselves. They can sell their works as goods. Some prestigious arts are traded at a high price, and this brings artists huge benefits. Not only some traditional arts but also modern pop arts have large markets. Modern artists such as pop musicians or manga writers are commercially successful. For example, Japanese manga such as "Dragon Ball" or "One Piece" is popular worldwide these days. The sales bring huge profit to writers directly, so they do not need financial supports from others. As for the athletes, they cannot earn money without sports events that need sponsors to be taken place.

In conclusion, I strongly stand by my opinion that government should support athletics more than the arts. This is because governments gain more profits from support sports events, and artists do not need more financial supports than athletes.