TPO 44

Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critical for parents how to spend their time with their children. I admit that there are many opinions about this; however, I think that the best use of time is to have fun playing games or sports. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, playing games or sports helps parents to build good relationships with their children. These days, many parents cannot spend their time with their children because they have to work hard to earn enough money to bring their children up. As a result, children tend to feel lonely and stressed. If the parents use their spare time to play with their children, children can feel more comfortable and believe their parents. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was an elementary school student, my parents were so busy that they come home late at night every day. I felt quite lonely and stressed. However, my father often took me to play soccer on weekends. By playing with him, I could manage my stress and lower my loneliness. If my father did not spend time with me on weekends, I would not cope with the situation, and I could not believe my parents.

Next, there are a lot of subjects that parents cannot teach their children these days. Students nowadays have to learn many subjects that their parents were not taught at school, such as programming. Even if parents have time to spend with their children, it is hard for parents to do together. For example, one of my friends, Ken, has a daughter who is an elementary school student. In her school, all students are required to take a programming course. When she has a problem with her homework, she often asks Ken how to solve the problem. However, Ken cannot answer the question because he did not have opportunities to learn to program. This example shows that many parents have difficulties teaching their children even though they have enough time to spend with their children.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that parents should spend time with their children playing games or sports. This is because it helps children cope with their stress and loneliness, and parents cannot be the best teacher of the subjects taught at school nowadays.