TPO 49 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no denying that making friends with other people is essential for social life. Some people prefer to maintain deep relationships with a small number of people; others like to expand their connections. I grant that there are many opinions about this topic; however, I disagree with the idea that deepening friendships with a small number of people in the long term is more important for happiness. I feel this way mainly two reasons for this that I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, the ability to make new connections easily helps us expand our point of view. Our values and ways of thinking are affected by the people around us. If we socialize with people whose cultural values or backgrounds are different from us, we can learn new ways of thinking and break stereotypes. The skill of making friends with other people provides us a lot of opportunities for that. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a high school student, I made a trip to India with my friends. I was so surprised at seeing people in India eating their meal with their hands. I wanted to know the reasons; I was so shy that they cannot ask them why they did so. However, one of my friends, Ken, asked them a question with no hesitation. The local people kindly told us the history and the cultural value of India, and we could expand our perspectives. Through this experience, I learned the importance of the skill of socializing.

Second, making wide connections lets us cope with the difficulties in daily life easily. We cannot live without others' help. Therefore, it is imperative for us to make large connections when we have to tackle some problems. For example, when I was a freshman at university, I was required to do an assignment of programming in computer science class. I did not have an opportunity of programming at that time, and the assignment was so complicated that none of my friends could solve it. However, I, fortunately, got to know a student who was good at computer programming in extracurricular activities, which I participated in for the sake of expanding my connections. He told me the basics of programming. Consequently, I could finish the assignments.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that expanding connections easily is more important than maintaining friendships within a particular community. This is because the ability to make connections helps us to expand our viewpoints and to solve problems that we face in our daily lives.