TPO 45

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Parents have a large impact on the decisions of young people. I admit that there are many opinions about how big the influence of parents has on the decisions of young people; however, young people today are better able to choose their lives without depending on their parents. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, young people today can get more information about careers through the internet. There is no denying that many young people today use social media to get information. Young people can easily socialize with people who have different careers from theirs. As a result, young people can get vivid information about specific careers their parents have not been familiar with. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a freshman at university, I happened to know a famous entrepreneur through the internet. I contacted him, and he told me that making a startup company is not a risk. I could learn how to build a start-up from him. Consequently, I decided to build a start-up company even though my parents were unfamiliar with building a company.

Second, young people, today can get specific education easily than before without depending on their parents. These days costs of learning are decreasing because there are many online courses such as programming and English conversation. Even if parents cannot afford the high tuition fees of university, young people today can learn needed skills in their careers. For example, one of my friends, Ken, was interested in computer science, but his parents could not pay the university's tuition fee. He had no choice but to give up entering the university, but he could find an inexpensive online course about programming. He could learn programming skills through the online course, and consequently, he could be an engineer for a famous IT company. He can now earn a lot of money with his skills.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that young people today can decide their own lives without being too dependent on their parents. This is because young people today can get more information through the internet about careers that their parents are not familiar with. It became easier for young people to get specific skills needed for their careers.