TPO 52

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The rules that society today expects young people to follow and obey have been changed over time. This is related to the role of young people in today's society. I grant that there are many opinions about this topic; however, I disagree with the statement that the rules that young people have to follow and obey today are too strict. I feel this way for mainly two reasons that I will explain in the following essay.

Firstly, the power of teachers in classrooms is becoming weaker than before. These days, teachers cannot make their students follow the rules strictly because students and their parents immediately complain to the national education committee about the teacher's attitude when they strictly scold their students. This means that students these days do not have to follow strict rules at school. To make the point vivid, I will introduce the story that my cousin, Ken, told me two years ago. When he was in elementary school, one of his classmates always disturbing the class by making noise. The teacher in his class scolded him strictly and told him not to make the noise; however, he did not accept the instruction. He told his parents the affairs of the school. And his parent's complaints about his teachers' instruction to the national education committee. The committee told the teacher to stop scolding him. Consequently, the student did not stop making noise in classes.

Next, parents stopped making their children follow the strict rules at home. These days birth rates in developed countries are decreasing. This is because the cost of raising children is increasing. In this situation, parents tend to overprotect and sometimes spoil their children. This means that children do not have to obey strict rules not only at school but also at home. For example, my father told me that he had often been hit by his grandfather when he broke the family rule or he could not get good grades at school. He told me that he had been afraid of this punishment, so he had had no choice but to follow the rules. Additionally, he told me that it had been taken for granted to be hit by parents at that time. I also have opportunities to be scolded by my parents, of course, but my parents have not hit me. This story really surprised me.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that the rules that young people have to follow and obey are not so strict. This is because teachers cannot make their students obey some strict rules, and parents are becoming kinder to their children than before.