TPO 42

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It critically affects our quality of life whether we are satisfied with our works. I admit that there are a lot of opinions about this; however, workers can increase their motivation for their works by doing many different types of tasks, in my opinion. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, workers can learn many kinds of skills by coping with a wide variety of tasks. These days we have to acquire a lot of skills to increase our salaries. By tackling different types of tasks, we expand our range of skills. Besides, increasing what we can do allows us to enjoy our work more. For example, one of my friends, Ken, is an engineer for a famous IT company. He first worked as a software engineer, but his manager let him do the tasks requiring hardware knowledge. He felt difficulties in tackling his work at first due to the shortage of knowledge of this field. However, through this work, he could expand his skill. He could increase his salary because the engineer who has both software and hardware skills is valuable. Furthermore, He seems to enjoy his work than before.

Next, we can see our project from a different point of view. When we work at a company, we have to collaborate with many people who play different roles. If we play the same for a long time, we cannot perceive the whole of the project. On the other hand, if we do a wide variety of tasks in the project, we can understand the importance of our work and increase our motivation. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I worked as an engineer for an electronics company for a long time. I was bored with my work because I had done similar tasks for many years. I asked my boss to allow me to work as a salesperson, and he approved my suggestion. After I started working as a salesperson, I had many opportunities to learn about the customer's demand and the importance of the role of the engineering department. Through this experience, I could understand our project more and increase my motivation for work.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that workers can feel more satisfied with their work by doing many types of tasks. This is because we can acquire many kinds of skills and it helps us understand our project more.