TPO 39

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critical for us what kinds of jobs can build a solid basis of our lives. I admit that there are a lot of opinions about this; however, finding job or career that will lead to a successful future is now more difficult than before, in my opinion. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, there are a lot of jobs that used to be recognized as a successful career but now are at the danger of disappearing. There is no denying that the speed of the change of the world is becoming faster and faster due to the technologies such as artificial intelligence, robotics, IoT. As a result, many old jobs are disappearing, and sometimes these jobs contain those that were used to be regarded as a successful jobs or careers. For example, one of my friends, Joe, is a lawyer. He was very intelligent, and when he became a lawyer, many people around us thought that he would earn a lot of money through his life. However, due to the advent of the AI, the demand of lawyer is decreasing. He does not loose his jobs, but he is not able to earn a lot of money to the extent that we expected.

Next, the variety of jobs are increasing nowadays. Some jobs are disappearing as I mentioned earlier. On the other hand, many new jobs are created, and the number of kinds of jobs is increasing. The story of my friend, Joe, is a compelling example of this. When joe was a freshman at university, he struggled with getting better grades at university, he thought that he would not be successful in his career. One day he started activity as a Youtuber. He liked music and he often uploaded the video that explain the history of music. Many of us did not expect that his video will not be popular, however, his videos really caught on among young people. Finally, he quit the university and he can earn enough money by the activity of Youtuber.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that it became harder to distinguish what career will secure our successful future. This is because there are a lot of jobs that were once regarded as a successful career but now are disappearing, and the variety of the jobs is increasing these days.